Conference

Students in VR Conference
May 7-8, 2020 in AltspaceVR and ENGAGE

Students in VR is a free and open-to-the-public virtual conference produced and presented by students, May 7-8, 2020. Students from around the world will teach lesson plans and best practices on VR in the classroom. The event is in AltspaceVR and ENGAGE and live streamed.

Schedule

The conference is divided up by time zones for North American (NA) and European Union (EU), covering PT (Seattle/Los Angeles) and CET (Paris) time zones. We recommend using Time and Date for help calculating time zones. Special events are in development in the hours between sessions.

Live streams of the sessions and events will be available on the Educators in VR YouTube channel.

To use this schedule, note the time, location, and use the link to the event to RSVP and receive email notification prior to the event’s start. Please note that some events have limited seating, so arrive on time.

ZONE PLATFORM PST TIME CET TIME EVENT TITLE LINK DESCRIPTION PRESENTERS MENTOR
DAY 1 – THURSDAY – MAY 7
EU ASVR 12:00 AM PST 9:00 AM CET EU Conference Opening Join Students in VR for the European Opening. The conference opening begins with 30 minutes social and networking and promptly at the top of the hour, Students in VR will open officially.
EU ASVR 12:30 AM PST 9:30 AM CET Go Beyond Presenting: Stimulate Interaction and Creativity in AltspaceVR Social VR platforms are increasingly popular, especially during the corona pandemic. We discuss how to end boring presentations and spark creativity, interaction and collaboration with free and easy tools to make VR events dazzling. Constanze Höpfner Evelien Ydo
EU ASVR 1:30 AM PST 10:30 AM CET Virtual Reality as A Cure for Acrophobia Can VR be used to help those who suffer from the fear of heights. Through analysis of a small sample-study, we explore VR as a therapeutic tool in the medical and research industries. Dieter Frehlich, Lucas Young Craig Frehlich
EU ASVR 2:30 AM PST 11:30 AM CET BREAK
EU ASVR 3:00 AM PST 12:00 PM CET The American Indian Resource Center and Virtual Reality through the Sevenstar Spatial Network Pam Iron from the American Indian Resource Center interviewed by Cherokee Nation citizen Andrew Dayton Andrew Dayton, Pam Iron Pamela Iron w/ Andrew Dayton
EU ASVR 3:30 AM PST 12:30 PM CET Teaching Virtual Reality in Rural Oklahoma Cherokee student Kayla Jumper will talk about her experiences using virtual reality in rural Oklahoma and her hopes for the future. Kayla Jumper Angelina Dayton
EU ASVR 4:30 AM PST 1:30 PM CET VR: Empowering the Next Generation of Scientists, Apprentices, and Frontline Workers By recreating learning spaces that simulate real life difficult, unsafe, or inaccessible situations, from DNA strings to navigating through disaster zones, VR brings this training into the reach of students. Explore skill-based simulations for the jobs of the future. Jan Stahlberg
EU ASVR 5:30 AM PST 2:30 PM CET EU SOCIAL & DANCE PARTY Rock out to DJ TR4SH P4NDA and Buddy, host of The Late Show with Buddy.
6:00 AM PST 3:00 PM CET BREAK
MinecraftVR 6:30 AM PST 3:30 PM CET MinecraftVR InBetweener Special event and tour of MinecraftVR
7:30 AM PST 4:30 PM CET BREAK
NA ASVR 8:00 AM PST 5:00 PM CET North American Conference Opening Day 1 North American Conference Open.
NA ASVR 8:30 AM PST 5:30 PM CET VRoKCs: VR/AR in Education – Student Envision, Build and Presented The VXR Wizards from VRoKCs (VR of Kansas City) share their experiences as student creators and makers in VR. Ojaswa Naik, Ankush Singh, Soujash Banerjee & Kyle Dietzman, Bradley Dunivan, J.C. Lauer, Austyn Horton & Warren Barge, Max Maynor, Noah Martin Rohit Chaube (VRoKCs)
NA ASVR 9:30 AM PST 6:30 PM CET Students as Content Creators in Minecraft Minecraft has become an amazing tool for use in education to leverage student expertise while meeting learning outcomes. MinecraftVR is a sandbox environment, often thought of as ‘digital LEGO’ but the possibilities expand far beyond as students can employ design and engineering principles as they automate functions in the world. Felix Perez Steve Isaac
NA ASVR 10:30 AM PST 7:30 PM CET BREAK
NA ASVR 11:00 AM PST 8:00 PM CET Keynote: Tom Furness with Buddy Join Buddy of “Late Night with Buddy” as he interviews Tom Furness of the Virtual World Society. Tom Furness
NA ASVR 11:30 AM PST 8:30 PM CET XR Storytellers: Learners Making Immersive Stories Find out how students achieve STEM classroom learning objectives by designing AR experiences through an immersive scientific story is co-created by students and teachers in a virtual learning environment. Explore techniques for supporting learners to demonstrate understanding and share knowledge using emerging technologies and storytelling principles. Sarah Cassidy, Janelle LaVoie, Quincy Wang, Poh Tan Paula MacDowell
NA ASVR 12:30 PM PST 9:30 PM CET Glitch Out VR: The Making Of a Game Moffitt VR: A Treatment Simulation Students from RCAD Virtual Reality Development and Game art and Design majors share their industry collaborative journeys in projects such as “Glitch Out VR” and “Moffitt VR: A Treatment Simulation.” Jarod Frank, Tyler Bivins, Timber Robert, Ruoling Xu, and Megan Dudley Paola Paulino
NA ASVR 1:30 PM PST 10:30 PM CET SOCIAL & DANCE PARTY Rock out to DJ TR4SH P4NDA and Buddy, host of The Late Show with Buddy.
DAY 2 – Friday – MAY 8
EU ENGAGE 12:00 AM PST 9:00 AM CET EU Conference Opening Day 2 European Union Conference Open.
EU ENGAGE 12:30 AM PST 9:30 AM CET How I became a VR Artist An interview with 11 year old VR art prodigy Yasmeen Abdurahimova. Steve Bambury
EU ENGAGE 1:30 AM PST 10:30 AM CET Virtual Reality as a Medium of Transcendence: Intro Explore the interaction between education and mental health and establishing new integrated interdisciplinary ecosystems with this innovative presentation. Sophia Ppali, Mohamed Ismail, John Pickavance Anna Xygkou
EU ENGAGE 2:30 AM PST 11:30 AM CET BREAK
EU ENGAGE 3:00 AM PST 12:00 PM CET An Interview with Rosie Summers, A VR Artist who Inspires Young Students Keynote Rosie Summers
EU ENGAGE 3:30 AM PST 12:30 PM CET Cultural Preservation and Education in VR Students showcase how they have been using VR in educational projects for Cherokee cultural preservation and ideas for future projects. Nickolas Simons, Hagen Patterson Jon Ford
EU ENGAGE 4:30 AM PST 1:30 PM CET Life in Lockdown – A Student’s View from within VR Student panel discussing the use of VR technologies for lessons during the current lockdown for higher education computing research students, lessons learned, and the impact the remote work had on their students, and what is next in the future of education. Group of Students Tim Jackson
EU ENGAGE 5:30 AM PST 2:30 PM CET Social Gather and meet Students in VR attendees and speakers.
6:00 AM PST 3:00 PM CET BREAK
NeosVR 6:30 AM PST 3:30 PM CET Watch NeosVR InBetweener on Twitch Special event and tour of NeosVR
7:30 AM PST 4:30 PM CET BREAK
NA ENGAGE 8:00 AM PST 5:00 PM CET North American Conference Opening Day 2 North American Conference Open.
NA ENGAGE 8:30 AM PST 5:30 PM CET How can VR improve the way we communicate? VR opens up huge potential to change the way we communicate. The presentation explores how to stimulate student communication skills in VR to develop the confidence to speak and interact with attendees of a presentation. VR provides a rich context for student learning in languages, science, and more. Abi Smithson, Holly Smithson Michael McDonald
NA ENGAGE 9:30 AM PST 6:30 PM CET VR and teaching from a University student’s perspective A university student’s perspective on using VR to teach using innovate platforms. Morgan Rhule, Margot Smith, Jalynn Smith, Jordyn Smith Shannon Putman
NA ENGAGE 10:30 AM PST 7:30 PM CET BREAK
NA ENGAGE 11:00 AM PST 8:00 PM CET Cherokee Nation National Treasure and Immersion Teacher, Betty Frogg (Keynote) Chloe Dayton will interview Cherokee Nation National Treasure and Cherokee Immersion teacher Betty Frogg about what she loves about virtual reality.
NA ENGAGE 11:30 AM PST 8:30 PM CET Using VR to learn and create as a second grader Two second grade students give their perspectives of using VR to learn and create Margot Smith, Jalynn Smith, Jordyn Smith Shannon Putman
NA ENGAGE 12:30 PM PST 9:30 PM CET Learning To Speak Cherokee Cherokee speaker Betty Frogg will teach Cherokee to Cherokee Nation Immersion student Chloe Dayton. Charlotte Wolfe will mirror the teaching technique with her daughter Alayna. Chloe Dayton with Betty Frogg, Mentor Angelina Dayton
NA ENGAGE 1:30 PM PST 10:30 PM CET Social After Party Gather and meet Students in VR attendees and speakers.

Students in VR is an Educators in VR project.